Mahashakti is the supreme soul in view of the Shakti-devotees. It has various shapes that do various wonderful performances in different forms. The Goddess has different names as Navadurga, Dashmahavidya, Annapurna, Jagddhaatri, Katyaayani, Lalitaamba, Gayatri, Bhuvneshvari, Kali, Tara, Bagla and Durga. She is the Adya Parashakti, who creates, nourishes and ruins. By their power, the Brahma has created the universe (Brahmand), Vishnu operates the Sristi and Shiva destroys the universe. Meaning there-by that Maa Adyashakti is the only power for generation, operation and destruction. For attainment of power, wealth and wisdom, Maa Mahakali, Maa Mahalaxmi and Maa Saraswati bestow blessings upon the devotees who trust them. Therefore devotees worship Maa in Her different forms as Ganga, Parvati, Savitri, Laxmi, Saraswati, Kali and Tulsi.

In India, there are some shrines which are known as divine Shaktipeethas. In Satyayuga, Daksha Prajapati organised a grand sacrifice (yajna) - Vrihaspati. He was not happy with Shiva's behaviour and attitude, and antagonised. In order to humiliate Shiva, he invited all gods and goddesses except his son-in-law and Sati to this occasion. When Sati came to know of this grand function at her parents' place, she sought Shiva's permission to visit them. Although, initially he did not agree saying 'they have not been invited to the function. If they go without invitation it would be an insult'. On Sati's repeated insistence, finally he accented and let her go. Daksha did not welcome his daughter Sati, on her arrival with the attendants and followers. Over-possessed with anger towards Shiva, he started criticising and condemning him seriously. Sati could not tolerate her husband's condemnation by father and jumped into the sacrificial fire pit (Yajnakunda). The purpose was to destroy the body, which had portion (amsha) of a man criticising Shiva her eternal husband who was also her aradhyadeva.

On learning this incident Lord Shiva became furious. He stormed the venue of the sacrifice like a mad man with his followers. In this process Daksha was killed and the sacrifice destroyed. Tormented by Sati's death, Shiva roamed in all parts of cosmos with Sati's corpse on shoulders. He forgot his divine duty. Consequently, the cosmic order and stability was disturbed. Perceiving the threat on the divine order, Vishnu was called upon to remedy the situation. He entered Sati's body by yoga and cut the corpse into several pieces; another version of the same story says he cut the corpse with chakra (disc). Finding that Sati's body is no more, Shiva stopped grieving and regained his divine composure. The places where different organs/parts of Sati's body and ornaments fell became sacred places (of the Goddess) and were called Pithas. At present there are 41 Shaktipeethas in India, 4 in Bangladesh, 3 in Nepal and 1 each in Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Tibet. There are traditionally 51 Shaktipeethas.

The Shaktipeethas established with the power and blessings of Maa Parashakti, distribute all blessings and spiritual attainment to the devotees and believers. Every worshipper of Maa Bhagwati has an earnest desire to present and submit his physical and spiritual presence before those Shaktipeethas on in lifetime.

Join us on -
  Like us on Facebook        Join us on Twitter        Watch us on YouTube
Wish to share something ?
If you know anything about any Shakti temple or have related images or any literature work you'd like to share with us, we'd love to hear from you. Just fill in the details below and we'll get in touch with you -
Quick Enquiry
Name :
City/Country :
Material(s) :
* Contact No. :
* Valid E-mail :